Sigmund Freud believed that dreams are manifestations of our unconscious desires and thoughts. Dreams, according to him, are like a safety valve that prevent us from facing anxiety-causing thoughts and situations.

I have a cousin brother who is only a few days old. Now newborns have this bad habit of sleeping all the damn time. (I tell my mom if the baby can do it, why can’t I? She tells me to get new role models.) Disappointing. However, I noticed that he dreamed while he slept, and that got me thinking.

Now here’s the deal, Freud, for a baby to have dreams, he’s got to have thoughts. And not just simple gu-gu-ga-ga thoughts. Thoughts elaborate enough that they would incite feelings and emotions, that they would need to be repressed. For thoughts that elaborate, you need understanding, cognition, *insert psychological jargons* yadda yadda yadda. Does a couple of days old baby have that?

As a person whose insomnia initially stemmed from nightmares, all this talk of dreams interests me a lot. However it seems like psychology, at this moment, does not share a unanimous view on this topic.

